Steak Salad – Have Your Meat and Eat Your Greens

Ok so how boring is salad? I swear if someone serves me iceberg lettuce outside of a burger one more time I’m going to go Battle Royale on them. Seriously, I lived a good portion of my adult life thinking salad was the worst ever, because who doesn’t get sick of lettuce, tomatoes and carrots in every single salad.

But then I got real broke and I had to learn how to combine ingredients to make them stretch further, and meat was expensive so I started playing around with different salads. Now I can afford meat more regularly, but I still love salads.

Steak Salad with Parmesan (265 cal)

  • 1 1/2 cups of Baby Spinach
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 6 grape tomatoes
  • 1 mini cucumber
  • 1/4 cup blackberries
  • 3oz Top Sirloin Steak (that’s what in this recipe, but seriously you can use whatever steak you have. I just had this leftover from dinner so it’s in the recipe)
  • 2 tsp Parmesan Cheese (if you want to use that weird stuff that comes in a green container, do you. Me? I love the hard cheese and I just use a vegetable peeler to slice it into my salad. Strong cheese + steak + fruit = happy excited taste buds

Salad really doesn’t have to be boring. And it’s one of those things you can eat a lot of without much guilt.

You might notice no dressing on this list. That’s because I don’t really eat salad dressing but if you want a nice light one, mix together some olive oil, lemon or basaltic vinegar, and salt and pepper. Unless you prefer Ranch, in which case, stop eating salad and go get some chicken wings.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Steak Salad – Have Your Meat and Eat Your Greens

Leave a Reply

