Milan’s Lazy Spanish Rice and Greek Grilled Chicken Breast

Ok, so you probably think that since I’m writing a food blog I love to spend hours in the kitchen cooking. That would be a lie. I like cooking, because I like eating, and I get bored with food so I make up new recipes, and I struggle with my weight so I try to make them healthy. That’s basically the story. So when my boyfriend said he was going to make his “Lazy Spanish Rice”, I got hooked on the word lazy and was like, yeah that’s going on the blog.

The chicken is pretty damn lazy too, so this is the lazy person recipe. So put your sweatpants on, or take them off, whatever your deal is.

Milan’s Lazy Spanish Rice – makes 8 servings (124 calories)

  • 2 cups of rice
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (796ml)
  • 1 can kidney beans (540 ml)
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped red peppers
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp chilli powder
  • 1/3 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 package low sodium Oxo chicken stock

Put the rice in a pot, and add the liquid from the can of tomatoes and the oxo stock (or whatever stock you have, it’s pretty standard stuff) and add enough water so your liquids equal 2 3/4 cups. I’m following my boyfriend’s instructions on this so it’s like a tasty game of telephone. Bring it to a boil and let it simmer

In a separate pan, fry up your celery, corn, garlic, onions, and red pepper and chill powder.

Drain the kidney beans. Personally, I always wash them because I’m certain that gross liquid is what makes you fart. Someone should do a fart test on that. Prove me right.

Once your rice is cooked add your pan ingredients, kidney beans, the tomatoes from the can and cilantro. Keep the heat on low and stir it all together.

Voila! Lazy Spanish rice

Greek Grilled Chicken Breast (180 calories per breast)

I normally marinade my chicken breasts the night before. The flavour is better and my meat is mostly frozen and I’m the type of person that forgets to pull it out until hungry is raging within and then I just give up and eat crackers. If you’re more organized, go you!

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • Smoked paprika (if you have an Epicure dealer, get her to hook you up, their smoked paprika is the best!)
  • Onion powder

Mix that goodness up and marinade your breasts (heheh) overnight. Basically just BBQ it. Please don’t give yourself salmonella, so make sure the breast is cooked thoroughly. You can use a meat thermometer, or go old school and just make sure it isn’t pink inside.

There! Lazy meals made healthy.

2 thoughts on “Milan’s Lazy Spanish Rice and Greek Grilled Chicken Breast

  1. Reblogged this on Do I have something on my face? and commented:
    Time to throw some love to the amazing Tannis Labine and her awesome recipes. As if her delicious recipes weren’t enough to stress how cool she is, she’s also cousins with Tyler Labine, best known as Jimmy from Breaker High (cast alongside a young Ryan Gosling) and the current voice of Hunk from Netflix’s revival of Voltron. Her new blog Will Be There For Food is definitely worth checking back into regularly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

