Smokey Vegetarian Egg Scramble

Eggs have to be one of the most amazing foods in the history of eating things. They’re so versatile and perfect for a filling breakfast, but don’t limit yourself to the wee hours of the morning, eat eggs whenever you want! Time is a construct, and thus breakfast foods should be eaten whenever.

So, as par for the course, I woke up at 6:30 am even though it’s Saturday. As I write this, my boyfriend is still snoozing and I’m enjoying the cool morning air and getting very hungry, and what better way to start my day (I’ll be working in my garden today on my homegrown veggies!) than a scramble.

Smokey Vegetarian Egg Scramble (315 cal)

  • 2 Eggs (I’ve convinced myself brown eggs taste better)
  • 1/4 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup diced orange bell peoer
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup baby Spinach
  • 3 grape tomatoes
  • 3 balls cocktail bococcini cheese
  • a pinch of smoked paprika (you will soon learn this is my favourite thing in my spice cabinet)

I even took pics while cooking this time!

Heat your frying pan on a medium heat, spray it down with some cooking spray (or butter or live dangerously and trust your non-stick, you rebel, you) and lightly fry up your onions, pepper and corn. Add in your smoked paprika. I find the frying part releases a lot of flavour in spices so I like to put them in at this point rather than later.

Quarter your grape tomatoes. Roll your spinach leaves into a little cocoon looking thing and cut them horizontally. I mean you can chop the shit out of them if you want, but I think they look nicer this way.

Crack your eggs into a bowl, add a touch of cold water and beat them up in the bowl. Quarter your cheese balls and add those to the eggs.

When the veggies in your pan look like this, it’s time to add your eggs and the rest of your ingredients:

Continue cooking on medium heat until your eggs are how you like them (even though I’ll never understand you runny egg people…)

Now you are like super-powered to start your day! And the whole process took like 15 minutes. Go out there and grab the world by its neck.

 

 

Leave a Reply

